7 Steps to a Better Life

I think it’s safe to say that more people make comments about my bow ties than any other item I own (AFTER my glasses that is).

Now, I’m not normally one to make New Years Resolutions. I mean, how many years in a row can you make a resolution to get in shape, make more money, and go on vacation before it just becomes depressing? The answer, is 2.

Well wanting to prove to myself that I could actually accomplish something in a years time, I set my goal for 2009 to learn how to tie a bow tie. Hey, they aren’t just for Steve Urkel anymore!

I proud to say I accomplished my 2009’s Year Resolution on January 3rd, 2009. WOO HOO! Mission Accomplished! Now I had the rest of the year to bask in what I had accomplished in such a short amount of time.

It wasn’t a piece of cake though! Since nobody around me knew how to tie a bow tie (many of them not even a regular tie) I had to turn to the only reliable source. YouTube. I mean, what don’t they have a video for on YouTube?* Luckily, Brooks Brothers has put together a great how-to guide. It’s the least they could if they are going to charge you 60 Bucks for a tie!

Start Practicing! Everybody loves a guy (or girl) in a bow tie! Besides, once you know how to tie a real bow tie, you can go back to the pre-made ones and when people ask you if you if its real, you can be honest and say no, but that you could tie one if you wanted to!

Check out the steps. If you need help, give a shout!

Begin with one end in left hand, extending 1.5 inch below other end in right hand.

Cross longer end over shorter and pass up through loop.

Make front loop of bow by doubling up shorter, hanging end and placing across collar points.

Hold the front loop between the thumb and index finger of left hand. Drop long end down over front.

Place right index finger pointing up on bottom half of hanging part. Pass up behind front loop.

Nudge resulting loop through knot behind front loop.

Hold the bow at both folded ends and pull carefully to tighten the knot.

 

*Dont Answer That. If it’s not on YouTube, it doesn’t exist to me.

One thought on “7 Steps to a Better Life

Leave a Reply

