Hello June! Full Speed Ahead

As I sit on the Amtrak train back to NYC from Boston, I find it hard to believe that June has already begun. Not just because the month of May flew by (or maybe I just don’t remember because my birthday was at the beginning of it and I haven’t stopped celebrating since). Also not because last night I could see my breath it was so cold out. It’s because I realize just how fast the past year has gone by.

Do you remember what you were doing exactly one year ago? A year ago today, I was heading into opening night of ‘S Wonderful, being performed at Gateway Playhouse in Long Island. As Stage Manager, it was a stressful rehearsal process to say the least, but after an almost bump-less opening performance, I was excited and relieved with the feat that I had accomplished. One year later, I sit heading back to NYC from the headquarters of the PR firm that I have been working for for the past 6 months. I now find myself learning a new trade, utilizing the skills and experiences that I have learned along the way to push me forward and help me be successful. Really, that goes for any of the life challenges I face.

And isn’t that the best we can do? Build ourselves up to be the best that we can be with the best personality arsenal?

Now while I may have grown up riding horses, I can honestly say that I am not, nor have I ever aspired to be, a “one trick pony”. I have respect for people who focus on one objective, work hard, and pursue the same goal for most of their lives. However, I’ll be the first one to tell you something you probably already know: Life throws your curve balls. You can’t predict what will happen with your work, with the economy, or even your health, and why should you limit yourself to only one talent? I bet you I could talk to you for 30 min and find at least 3 things that you are good at that make you unique.* There is something to be said for picking one thing and being the best at it, but I have chosen to not always just focus on one task, but many different goals throughout my life, some at the same time.

So as summer pushes forward, take a chance and try something new. I’m not saying you have to quit your job or to move to a foreign country. Start small. Write a short story (Carrie will give you tips). Volunteer with Kids (I’ll join you!) As for me, one of my goals this summer is to go camping on the weekends with my dog. Spend a weekend or two out of the busy city life, and connect back with the nature that I grew up with in Michigan. Having never really been camping (because I dont consider my parents backyard as real camping), I want to get out and try something new, see how I do.  Plus I need a good excuse to wear my Carhart overalls again and somehow Hells Kitchen happy hour just doesn’t seem to fit the bill.

If you still need some inspiration, there will be plenty to inspire you here on Style Of Mind. Upcoming blogs will feature people who inspire us by doing what they love and celebrating who they are, people we spot on the subway looking chic, and anything else we find interesting and fascinating. We want to hear from you as well! Let us know what you are doing to live outside your “normal”. Try something new and tell us how its goes. Don’t be afraid to fail, and when you do, don’t be ashamed, because with failure comes personal growth, and that’s really what it is all about.

Summer is here, and its time to enjoy it! Same with your life.

Live For Fun, Spread Joy!

-Matt

*If I can’t find 3 things I’ll buy you a drink. Hell, I expect we be having the convo at happy hour!

Leave a Reply

