Tools: Not Just the Guys You Meet at Bars

What comes to mind when you hear the word “tools”? Do you instantly think of that group of guys drooling over ladies/guys at the bar, high-fiving each other as they use never-successful pickup lines towards unsuspecting customers, or do you think of levels, hammers, and tape measures?

While sadly I have had my fair share of experiences in the former, it is the latter that has brought a lot of joy to me throughout the years. Growing up in Michigan, I was lucky to have been taught my way around power tools, thanks mostly to my dad, his patience, and his willingness to teach. With the addition of a shop class in middle school, I learned how to use large, more industrial construction machinery such as table saws, band saws, and the like. After years of mission work, building projects with my dad, and more trips to a hardware store in one summer working for ASP than most people visit in their lives, I have become quite comfortable in the face of construction. Many people are surprised by my ability to be able to build a house or by my slight Norm Abram obsession (c’mon, he is WAY better then Bob Vila!), but I throw that all up to just being another side of my crazy self.

So why am I telling you this? Well, I only bring it up because I want to express how important it is for you to have just a basic set of tools in your apartment/home. Being able to take on just small everyday tasks is a way to not only save money but also work outside of your comfort zone and learn something new. Now, you should never operate any tools without first reading the instructions on proper use, just to make sure you don’t get hurt. Staying safe is way more important then, lets say, electrocuting yourself because you tried to install that new flood light over your closet. The downside is that home improvement/repair is a lot like cooking; You can’t successfully make anything without all of the ingredients on the list. Same thing goes for tools. Building up a proper tool kit can be expensive, so finding an all-in-one kit that suits your needs may be a great way to start!

Luckily, Groupon has a deal today for what I think is a very well rounded, basic, all-in-one tool set. Only downfall? Why does it only come in pink??

Tool Set

I know what some of you are thinking: “I don’t want to use tools, know how to use tools, or be around tools (of any kind)”. Well, to that, I say, do like Carrie did, build up the arsenal of tools and then call over your doting construction-friendly friend (me) anytime you need something done! Nobody wants to carry a power screwdriver on the subway, but if you want to supply the tools, and maybe lunch (I would say drinks, but I don’t recommend drinking and drilling…in any way), and I’ll hang those frames for you or fix that shelf.

Experiment and be safe! Construct On, and as always, Live For Fun, Spread Joy!

XO

-Matt

PS. Let me know if you have any questions! Anything that I can’t answer, I’ll gladly forward your question to a much wiser source, my father 🙂

Leave a Reply

