(Get) Hot (in) Town, (its the) Summer in the City!

My Morning Ritual:

1. Wake up in a daze to alarm clock at 6am. Hit Snooze.

2. Wake up in a panic to alarm clock for fear of oversleeping at 6:20am. Hit Snooze.

3. Wake up one last time at 6:30am to my last scheduled alarm clock. Hit Snooze. Hide phone under pillow. Sleep for 10 more minutes.

4. Fall out of bed (pulled by my dog). Run her outside. Quickly shower, dress, panic at the clock, and run out the door later than planned.

5. Stress all the way to work and develop a new age line across my forehead.

 

Getting out of bed ranks up there as one of the worst things I have to do each day. It’s so warm an comfortable so why do I eventually do it? For me, there are two reasons: To take my dog outside for her morning walk and to get my butt to work so I don’t get fired. Sounds like a punishment, no wonder I want to hit the snooze button 10 times and hide under the covers. So why do I let this ritual put stress on myself just to gain a little more sleep? What else could I do to jump start my day and not only make me feel better, but LOOK better too?

 

The Business Insider has put together a list of 10 morning rituals that you can do each day to lift your spirits and maybe, just maybe, improve those looks of yours a little bit. Don’t get me wrong, you look fantastic already, but I’m sure we could all add a ritual or two (or 10) to our daily routine to keep us looking our best, or better!

 

Take a look below, read their comments as well as my thoughts on their comments. If they missed something, let us know! Oh, and by the way, the headline may say “Men” but we think that these tips can work for the ladies too!

 

 

10 tips to look better Title

The start of every day represents a new chance for you to be a better man. Here we focus on the top 10 ways to tweak your morning routine in order to look better today — and improve your appearance in the long run.

1. Move your body

treadmill running workout gym exercise men

Scott Barbour/Getty Images

Squeezing in a sweat session in the morning will improve both your body and your mind — now and in the future. In addition to exercisebuilding a fitter, hotter body, the endorphin rush it results in will put you in a cheery mood for hours, and your skin will become clearer over time. You’ll also deal better with stresses that arise over the course of the day. Although you’ll notice benefits from any type of morning physical activity, favor cardio workouts, because you’ll burn more fat in the a.m., and save weight trainingfor later in the day.

 

MSK: Every morning I get up and walk my dog. While at first glance it may look like a miserable task, I have found that walking in the morning not only raises my heartbeat (even if it is only slightly), it also allows me to clear the sleepy fog out of my brain and start mentally preparing for the day. Experiencing the neighborhood as it wakes up gives you a perspective on your day and on life that you may not have if you are just running to the train. Greet a Neighbor, wave to the kids on the bus, or walk/run down a new block, you never know what you’ll see.  Not to mention I get a full preview of the weather for the day and can plan my outfit accordingly!

 

Conrad and Peter/Flickr

Think of your body as a machine: It needs fuel to run efficiently, and some types of fuel are better than others. Fire up your engine by beginning your day with a breakfast that will keep your energy revved up for hours. The best power breakfast is a combination of lean protein and slow-burn carbs, so try things like steel-cut oats with fruit and yogurt or an omelet with vegetables. If you’re in a rush, blend up fruit with milk or juice, and add a scoop of protein powder for an on-the-go smoothie.

Flickr/Cody Long

Although there might be a debate on whether it’s better to brush your teeth before or after breakfast, the one thing everyone can agree on is that brushing in the morning is crucial for both your oral health and a better looking smile.  From the #1 power toothbrush brand recommended by dental professionals comes the new Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum. It removes up to 7x more plaque between teeth than a manual toothbrush and delivers up to 3x more brush strokes for a superior clean.

5. Shave

By and large, women prefer a freshly shaved face, so be sure to allot time in your routine for this essential grooming task. Even if you don’t need to shave every day, leave yourself 5 minutes every morning to do a quick one-over on your mug and assess your hair growth situation. By adopting this habit, you’ll never have the experience of going through half your day before realizing you missed three rather conspicuous spots the last time you shaved. The same logic applies when it comes to tweezing nose and ear hair or a unibrow.

 

MSK: I absolutely hate shaving. I thank my lucky stars that I only have to shave my face and not my whole body like some, and that I can get away with shaving every other day, even though I grow a solid stubble in a week. However, when you hate something as much as I despise shaving, you have to find ways to make it as enjoyable as possible. By barber once said, “Shave after a hot shower or don’t shave at all”. He couldn’t have given better advice. I highly recommend Harry’s brand razors (I get my hair cut at Harry’s Corner Shop in Manhattan) and use a Badger Hair shaving brush from The Art of Shaving. With my penchant for doing things the old fashioned way, I took the exhausting task of shaving and made it fun and enjoyable. Every time I use the badger shaving brush, I think of my grandfather and father. Even if they may not have used one, I like to create the family lineage in my head.

 

 

6. Do 100 push-ups

crossfit, working out, pushup, exercise

Andreas Rentz/Getty Images

It may be an oldie, but it’s a goodie: Adding 100 push-ups to the end of your cardio training in the morning will give you solid abs and strong biceps that women go wild for. What’s more, waking up your core muscles this way will improve your posture for the remainder of the day — you’ll appear taller and more confident.

MSK: B’escuse me? 100 you say? To be continued……

 

7. Pack a lunch

Making your own lunch takes only minutes and will save you a shocking number of excess calories and unnecessary sodium that come with eating processed food or dining out every day. For men crunched for time, simply swapping in a bagged lunch twice a week can make a difference in their appearance in terms of shedding a few pounds, reducing bloating and keeping cholesterol and blood pressure in check.

MSK: I really should do this more often than I do. When cooking dinner for me and my fiance, I always try and plan means that will not only have leftovers, but will heat up easily the next day in our offices. Cooking is all about planning, and planning ahead will save you time and especially money. If I spend $15 on ingredients for a meal and it stretches to cover 4 meals (2 for each of us), I could be saving hundreds of dollars a month, and as they stated above, avoiding excess calories and processed foods.

 

8. Use a facial cleanser

For immediately brighter skin, massage your face with a high-quality facial cleanser while you’re in the shower. Look for one that contains an exfoliant or a 2% salicylic acid solution, as either will help to get gunk out of your pores, resulting in clearer skin within a month. To reduce the appearance of splotchy skin and instantly look more awake, wash your face using cold water.

MSK: I also recommend finding a face wash with a menthol scent to it. Really perks you up in the morning!!

 

9. Consume caffeine

man holding coffee cup

Joe Raedle / Getty Images

Black coffee and green or black tea are packed with antioxidants that will keep you looking young. Research also suggests that imbibing these liquids regularly in moderate quantities may lower your risk of dementia later on as well as various forms of cancer. Plus, a cup of joe gives you that much-loved get-up-and-go jolt we all need in the morning, particularly when combined with an early workout.

MSK: Caffeine is a tricky one. They say that it is packed with antioxidants that help you look young. However, I have heard bad things about caffeine consumption, not to mention the addiction-like dependency your body can develop for the stuff. I have never been a coffee drinker, but I used to consume Diet Coke like it was my only purpose on this earth. After we decided to turn our household into a caffeine-free safe zone, and once our throbbing 3-day migraines went away after kicking the stuff, we are happier not to have the bipolar jolt-maker in our systems. I guess its up the the individual to decide. If you are drinking coffee already, I doubt you’ll be stopping anytime soon.

 

10. Apply a signature scent

Switching up your usual cologne every once in a while is a commendable experiment, but there’s something to be said for having a signature too. After all, wearing the same fragrance on a regular basis means the women in your life will come to associate this scent with you. To smell amazing all day long, layer your scents by matching your deodorant, your cologne and even your soap if possible.

MSK: I’ve written an entire blog on the cologne that I highly recommend. You CANNOT go wrong with Rochas Men. Complements Guaranteed!

RochasMan

 

What did they miss? What morning ritual do you follow that makes you feel or look better? Sound off below!

 

~Matt

Leave a Reply

